Selected Works by Robert Penn Warren

Photo courtesy of Mrs. Robert D. Frey.
Permission for use is required.

  • Tell me a story.
  • In this century, and moment, of mania,
  • Tell me a story.
  • Make it a story of great distances, and starlight.
  • The name of the story will be Time,
  • But you must not pronounce its name.
  • Tell me a story of deep delight.

"Audubon": Copyright ©1969 by Robert Penn Warren—
Reprinted by permission of William Morris Agency, Inc. on behalf of Author

This is, as the heading to this page instructs, a selected listing. A complete and total listing of Warren's works would require much more space than this web site permits. Not all of his essays are listed nor poems published as broadsides and in anthologies, recordings by Warren, nor other written works well worth reading. For a complete bibliography thru 1979 you are directed to Robert Penn Warren: A Descriptive Bibliography 1922-1979 by James A. Grimshaw (1981) University Press of Virginia. We look forward to the forthcoming bibliography by Mr. Grimshaw, with Jonathan Eller, covering the later works of and about Warren.


Night Rider, Houghton, (1939)

At Heaven's Gate, Harcourt, (l943)

All the King's Men, Harcourt, (1946), (Pulitzer Prize)

World Enough and Time, Random House, (1950)

Band of Angels, Random House, (1955)

The Cave, Random House, (1959)

Wilderness: A Tale of the Civil War, Random House, (1961)

Flood: A Romance of Our Time, Random House, (1964)

Meet Me in the Green Glen, Random House, (1971)

A Place to Come To, Random House, (1977)



Thirty-six Poems, Alcestis Press, (1936)

Eleven Poems on the Same Theme, New Directions, (1942)

Selected Poems: 1923-1943, Harcourt, (1944)

Brother to Dragons: A Tale in Verse and Voices, Random House, (1953)

Brother to Dragons: A Tale in Verse and Voices—A New Version, Random House, (1979)

Promises: Poems 1954-1956, Random House, (1957), (Pulitzer Prize)

You, Emperors, and Others: Poems 1957-1960, Random House, (1960)

Selected Poems: New and Old, 1923-1966, Random House, (1966)

Incarnations: Poems 1966-1968, Random House, (1968)

Audubon: A Vision, Random House, (1969)

Or Else: Poem/Poems 1968-1974, Random House, (1974)

Selected Poems: 1923-1976, Random House, (1977)

Now and Then: Poems 1976-1978, Random House, (1978), (Pulitzer Prize)

Being Here: Poetry 1977-1980, Random House, (1980)

Rumor Verified: Poems 1979-1980, Random House, (1981)

Chief Joseph of the Nez Perce, Random House, (1983),

New & Selected Poems: 1923-1985, Random House, (1985)

The Collected Poems of Robert Penn Warren, (edited by John Burt) Louisiana State University Press, (1996)

Selected Poems of Robert Penn Warren, (edited by John Burt) Louisiana State University Press, (2001)



The Circus in the Attic, and Other Stories, Harcourt, (1947)

Blackberry Winter, Cummington Press, (1946)

The Cass Mastern Material: The Core Of Robert Penn Warren's All The King's Men, (edited by James A. Perkins) Louisiana State University Press, (2005)



Understanding Poetry (with Cleanth Brooks), Holt, (1938), 4th edition, (1976)

Understanding Fiction (with Cleanth Brooks), Crofts, (1943), 2nd Edition, Appleton-Century -Crofts, (1959)

Fundamentals of Good Writing - A Handbook of Modern Rhetoric (with Cleanth Brooks), Harcourt, (1950), 2nd edition published under original title, 1958, 4th edition, (1979)

American Literature: The Makers and the Making (with Cleanth Brooks and R.W.B. Lewis), St. Martin's, (1974)



Remember the Alamo, Random House, (1958)

The Gods of Mount Olympus, Random House, (1959)

How Texas Won Her Freedom, San Jacinto Museum of History, (1959)



All the King's Men: A Play, Random House, (1960)

Robert Penn Warren's All the King's Men: Three Stage Versions, (edited by James A. Grimshaw and James A. Perkins) University of Georgia Press, (2000)



Homage to Theodore Dreiser, On the Centennial of His Birth, Random House, (1971)

John Greenleaf Whittier's Poetry: An Appraisal and a Selection, University of Minnesota Press, (1971)

Selected Essays, Random House, (1958). 

Democracy and Poetry, Harvard University Press, (1976). 

Portrait of a Father, University Press of Kentucky, (1988)

Jefferson Davis Gets His Citizenship Back, University Press of Kentucky, (1980)

New and Selected Essays, Random House, (1989)



Segregation: The Inner Conflict in the South, Random House, (1956)

The Legacy of the Civil War: Meditations on the Centennial, Random House, (1961)

Who Speaks for the Negro, Random House, (1965)

John Brown: The Making of a Martyr, Payson & Clarke, (1929), Reprinted, Scholarly Press, (1970)



Click on the film for more information

All the King's Men, 1949, Directed by Robert Rossen

Band of Angels, 1957, Directed by Raoul Walsh

Vsya Korolevskaya Rat (Soviet TV miniseries of All the King's Men), 1971, Directed by Alexander Gutkovich

All the King's Men, 2006, Directed by Steven Zaillian



A Robert Penn Warren Reader, Random House, (1987)